Maguire Energy Institute

Advisory Board

"The Maguire Energy Institute encourages the study of management, marketing and policy issues related to the energy industry."

The Maguire Energy Institute sponsors a number of programs that prepare students for careers in the energy industry, provide focused research for direct business application, and inform the public though independent, unbiased information.

The Institute conducts seminars, forums, field trips and other programs designed to explore the many issues surrounding the energy industry. The Institute conducts the annual Frank Pitts Lecture Series that brings industry thought leaders to campus to address energy and energy-related issues. The Institute’s programs cover all forms of energy including traditional oil and gas, nuclear, wind, solar, biomass, and bio-fuels.

List of Board Members

  • Greg Armstrong, Chairman & CEO, Plains All American Pipeline, Inc. (Houston, TX)
  • Robert Best, Chairman & CEO, Atmos Energy (Dallas, TX)
  • Rhys Best, Chairman, President and CEO, Seren Management, L.L.C. (Dallas, TX)
  • David Biegler, CEO, Estrella Energy, L.P. (Dallas, TX)
  • Bruce Bullock, Director, Maguire Energy Institute (Dallas, TX)
  • Karl Butler, President & CEO, ICC Energy Corporation (Dallas, TX)
  • Victor Carrillo, Zion Oil & Gas (Dallas, TX)
  • Bill Custard, President, Pitts Energy Group (Dallas, TX)
  • Gary Evans, President & CEO, GreenHunter Energy (Grapevine, TX)
  • James Gibbs, Chairman Five States Energy Company, L.L.C. (Dallas, TX)
  • Luis Giusti, Senior Advisor, Center for Strategic & International Studies (Washington, DC)
  • Forrest Hoglund, President, Hoglund Interests (Dallas, TX)
  • Albert Hrubetz, President, Hrubetz Oil Company (Dallas, TX)
  • Herbert Hunt, Advisor to  Management, Petro-Hunt, LLC (Dallas, TX) 
  • Ray Hunt, Chairman, President and CEO, Hunt Consolidated, Inc.(Dallas, TX)
  • Bill Keffer, Partner, Miller, Keffer, Bullock & Pedigo (Dallas, TX)
  • Bobby Lyle, Chairman, President, and CEO, Lyco Holdings Corporation (Dallas, TX)
  • Cary Maguire, Chairman and President, Maguire Oil Company (Dallas, TX)
  • David Miller, Senior Managing Director - Co-founder, EnCap Investments (Dallas, TX)
  • Patrick Murray, Retired CEO of Dresser (Dallas, TX)
  • Albert Niemi, Jr., Dean, Cox School of Business (Dallas, TX)
  • Erle Nye, Chairman Emeritus, TXU Corporation (Dallas, TX)
  • James Oberwetter, President, Dallas Regional Chamber (Dallas, TX)
  • Harrison Schmitt, Chairman, Interlune-Intermars Initiative, Inc. (Albuquerque, NM)
  • Scott Sheffield, Chairman and CEO, Pioneer Natural Resources Company (Irving, TX)
  • James Smith, Cary M. Maguire Chair in Oil and Gas Management, Cox School of Business (Dallas, TX)
  • Gary Weed, Downstream Controller, Retired, ExxonMobil Corporation (Dallas, TX)
  • Bernard Weinstein, Associate Director, Maguire Energy Institute (Dallas, TX)
  • Jerry White, Director, The Caruth Institute, Cox School of Business (Dallas, TX)
  • Jim Wicklund, Principal, Carlson Capital, LLC (Dallas, TX)
  • George Yates, Chairman & CEO, Heyco Energy Group (Dallas, TX)